Bread/Pain/빵

I would have never guessed before coming to Seoul that I would be bread-making here. When I bought a 125g package of yeast, the smallest I could find, I thought I would never be able to use it all, and that most of it would be forgotten in the fridge. Au contraire, I’ve somehow gotten really into it and have already used quite a bit of the yeast making sweet breads, pizza dough and even a DIY version of naan. This weekend, I wanted to do something with leftover cheese (mozzarella and parmesan) and fresh rosemary from my grandparents’ garden in Taiwan. So I woke up early on Saturday to make rosemary cheese bread and baked these two babies.

I proudly showed them off to S when he woke up, because it really felt like these breads were offsprings. Starting off as a bowl of bubbling yeast, I then stood mesmerized over the dough as I watched it rise for hours before finally getting them into the oven. Taking them out felt victorious, like witnessing them graduate into the next stage of being. And boy were they ever good at being bread. I barely had the time to snap these pictures before they were ravaged. So yummy for the tummy!

I’m liking this new venture into the world of bread making/dough parenting and I’m looking forward to figuring out what else I can make!

Leave a Reply

