Veggies and valentines

So I am living with someone who has a very different palate than my own. S unfailingly prefers Asian dishes (of any kind) and even more so ones that have meat. But I constantly crave different kinds of flavours, and have been missing my greens. I’ve been trying to be accommodating, for sake of convenience and domestic harmony, but yesterday I took a decidedly rebellious turn. I was in the mood for something different, with beans and veggies, and so I made this soup.

Loaded with celery, zucchini, onions, tomatoes, corn, and spiced with coriander and cumin, I hoped to convert S through both nutrition and taste. But it turned out to be his culinary nightmare. I watched in disappointment as he painfully swallowed each spoonful, while intently rummaging through his bowl for the odd piece of chicken. It was too comical to be truly offensive, but I’m not sure how often I will be making dishes of this sort again, as I was then left with a huge pot of leftovers and a boy aching for delivery. Too thoughtful to let him go hungry, I presented him with these for dessert.

I’ve never been a fan of decorating my baked goods and prefer to serve them with dollops of cream, handfuls of fresh fruits or even more simply, some dusted cocoa. But in the spirit of Valentine’s Day, I thought it would be fun to give piping a second chance. I had to go all the way to the baker’s market to get food colouring, and once there there was no way turning back. But after hours spent in the kitchen between cutting out all the hearts, making different shades of pink and coming up with unique designs, I remembered why I never got into this practice. And after witnessing all the time I poured into making these hearts, S himself didn’t have one to just eat them, preferring to nibble on the pile of rejects unworthy of being iced. Just all well, because I brought them to Korean class today and instantly won over all my Japanese classmates who were positively charmed by the aesthetics. Still, I couldn’t let go of my labor of love so easily and kept my favourites to enjoy for ourselves.

Leave a Reply

